top of page
image1 (58)_edited_edited.jpg

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: SAMANTHA FISHER

We wanted to know more about our anthology authors so we asked if we could pick their brains and scoop out the delicious brilliance.


Next up is Samantha Fisher, who wrote the beautiful, bittersweet, melancholic story 'Ma':



IP: Would you survive one of your stories in real life? Which one and how would you last? 


S: I’m a Libran so I think most people who know me would say I’m far too indecisive to survive any kind of horror novel or movie, because by the time I’d decided on the right course of action, the monster would already be halfway through eating my entrails. I do have a zombie apocalypse

novel in the creative pipeline, and that is probably the subgenre in which I’d stand the best chance of making it to the final pages. Stock up on supplies, hunker down somewhere safe, and check everybody religiously for bites. I think I’d be okay. Maybe. If I could keep my kids and the

dog quiet…



IP: What is the most unconventional piece of inspiration you’ve had?


S: My inspiration tends to come from an assortment of odd places. Whilst a couple of pieces have been inspired by more typical things (song lyrics, something interesting I’ve seen when I’m walking the dog), most of the stories I write have a peculiar origin. For example, ‘Ma’ was inspired by an episode of Unsolved Mysteries, which I won’t elaborate on further out of respect for the victim’s loved ones. Perhaps the strangest thing to have ever provided me with inspiration was the electric bug zapper at my old job, but I haven’t quite gotten around to writing up that idea yet.


IP: How do you write? What does your ‘routine’/‘set up’ look like? Do you have a playlist?


S: I have a pretty busy home life; a part time job, four children, a husband, and an assortment of animals to take care of, so I write basically whenever I can find a quiet moment. Although I’m a big fan of making playlists to put me in the creative mood, I hate noise when I’m writing. I find that I end up copying down the lyrics by accident rather than telling the story. My set-up consists of my laptop, my comfiest sofa, and a gingerbread man shaped pillow named Gilderoy. He’s an absolute pro at literal tech support. (I lean my laptop on his head).



IP: What are you currently working on? If you're not working on anything at the moment, what work are you most proud of? (Big yourself up!)


S: Within the last week, I’ve finished the final book in the Base Fear series, which I hope to release with Raven Tale Publishing before the end of this year. Books 1 – 4 are already available on Amazon, if you’re inclined to check them out! Next up, I’ve set my sights on a zombie-centric

novel, with a focus on toxic friendships, the feminine experience, and motherhood, which I’ve suddenly realised is quite the combination. If you’d like to keep up to date with my future projects and releases then find me on Insta, Facebook, and TikTok under S. C. Fisher – Author.


IP: What are your favourite things about the horror/writing community at the moment? 


S: I’ve always loved the inclusivity of this community and their willingness to jump to the aid of anyone who might need it most, whether that might entail fundraising to help cover medical bills, sending books to a kid who’s being bullied, or checking in regularly with those navigating times

of crisis. Horror fans are among the kindest, most genuine people I’ve ever had the pleasure of interacting with, and I feel privileged to be included in their ranks. Scaring is caring.


IP: Who would you say is the biggest supporter of your writing? 


S: My number one fan is absolutely my 12 year-old son. He will tell anyone who is willing to listen (teachers, classmates, bus drivers, waiters) that his mum is a writer, and he always follows up by insisting they should buy my books to find out how great I am. I might actually owe him a

portion of my profits by this point. In his beautiful little mind, I will for sure one day be as big as Stephen King and hold a Netflix multi-movie deal. I probably have at least another year before the hormones kick in and he starts telling everyone that I’m ‘cringe’ instead.


IP: Why do you write?


S: So many reasons. To quiet my mind. To say the things that I think might be important. To play. To escape. To entertain. To get a reader through a bad day. I can’t think of one reason that seems more important to me than the others. Writing is just one of the things I was born to do.


IP: Name a writer that inspires you and why?


S: R. L. Stine. I drop his name in almost every interview or podcast I do. Not only did he manage to instill generations of kids with a love of reading, but he seems like such a humorous, humble, and kind man, which is worth more than any number of literary prizes. I just love him and everything he touches.



IP: What would be the worst superpower to have? 


S: Flight. I am a terrible traveler. If I could fly, I guarantee that I would be air-sick, and imagine trying to clean THAT off your car windscreen!


IP: And because we have to ask - favourite horror movie?


S: Don’t revoke my ‘horror card’, but The Woman in Black with Daniel Radcliffe. It has all my favourite food groups; themes of isolation and grief, perfectly timed jump scares, unsettling imagery, maudlin scenery, and a Gothic ambience that makes me wish I could sweep through

the grounds of a grand, 19 th century, haunted manor in my best black velvet mourning gown. Plus, it’s rated 12, so you can absolutely watch it with the kids.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: UTE ORGASSA

We wanted to know more about our anthology authors so we asked if we could pick their brains and scoop out the delicious brilliance. Next...

Comments


bottom of page